Care Advisors and Clinical Nurse Specialists

Regional neuromuscular care advisors and specialist nurses provide practical and emotional support for families affected by muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular conditions. They also offer advice and information, supporting physical and emotional well being through regular clinics, and educating other health professionals.

Their training backgrounds include nursing, social care, physiotherapy and occupational therapy. They work with statutory service providers, education authorities and other professionals to advise, support and best meet the needs of people with muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular dystrophy.

Our regional care advisors are listed below. In order to have ongoing support from a regional care advisor, you will usually need to be referred by your GP to the clinic that the regional care advisor supports.

Julie Cassell – Julie is the Neuromuscular Care Advisor for Derbyshire, based in the Royal Derby Hospital. She caters for paediatric and adult clients on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays.

Derby Teaching Hospital Foundation Trust, Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, Level 2 Rehabilitation Block, Royal Derby Hospital, Uttoxeter Road, DE22 3NE

E-mail: J.Cassell@nhs.net

Tel: 01332 786760

Kathryn Docherty – Part time Neuromuscular Care Advisor for paediatric and adult clients.

Poole Hospital, Dorset, BH15 2JB

E-mail: Kathryn.docherty@poole.nhs.uk

Tel: 01202 263273

Andrea Russell – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Norfolk and Suffolk, based in Cambridge.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ

E-mail: andrea.russellscg@nhs.net

Tel: 01223 349815

Carol Wood – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Cambridgeshire and Essex, based in Cambridge.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ

E-mail: Carolann.wood@nhs.net

Tel: 01223 349815

Andy Hiscock – Adult and paediatric Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire and Peterborough.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ.

E-mail: andrew.hiscock@nhs.net

Tel: 01223 349815

Joanna Musson – Paediatric Specialist Nurse based at Addenbrooks hospital, Cambridge.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ.

E-mail: joanna.musson@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Tel: 01223 216662

 

Janice Fidler – Full time Neuromuscular Care Advisor for paediatric and adult clients.

Pennine Care NHS trust, Paediatric Physiotherapy Department, Callaghan House, Cross Street, Heywood, Lancashire, OL10 2DY.

E-mail: janice.fidler1@nhs.net

Tel: 01706 676316

Yvonne Julien – Neuromuscular Care Advisor for Leicester, catering for both paediatric and adult care on a full time basis.

Leicester General Hospital, Neurology Outpatients, Gwendolen Road, Leicester LE5 4PW

E-mail: Yvonne.julien@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Tel: 0116 2584474

Alison Brown – Neuromuscular Care Advisor for clients who attend Alder Hey & Walton Centre. Can provide for paediatric and adult patients on a full time basis.

Neurosciences Unit, Alder Hey NHS Foundation Trust, Eaton Road, Liverpool L12 2AP

E-mail: Alison.brown@alderhey.nhs.uk

Tel: 0151 2525451

Shirley Crosby – Neuromuscular Care Advisor for clients who attend Alder Hey & Walton Centre. Can provide for paediatric and adult patients on a full time basis.

E-mail: Shirley.Crosby@alderhey.nhs.uk

Tel: 0151 2525751

Sam Jones – Neuromuscular Specialist Nurse specialising in adult care only on a full time basis.

Walton Centre, Lower Lane, Liverpool L9 7BB

E-mail: Samantha.Jones@thewaltoncentre.nhs.uk

Sian Craig – Paediatric Specialist Nurse at Great Ormond Street Hospital.

Dubowitz Neuromuscular Service, Level 10 Old Nurses Home, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children, Great Ormond Street, London WC1N 3JH

E-mail: sian.craig@gosh.nhs.uk

Tel: 02074 059200 ext. 1195

Debbie Clarke – Paediatric Neurology Outreach Nurse at St. Thomas’ Hospital.

Paediatric Neurosciences, 1st Floor, Staircase D, South Wing, St Thomas’ Hospital, Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7EH

E-mail: Debbie.clarke@gstt.nhs.uk

Tel: 02071 885944

Fran Binici – Full time Specialist Practitioner for Neuromuscular Conditions, based in Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. Caters for paediatric and young people up to the age of 18.

Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital 3rd Floor, Room C3.DV.162 Oxford Rd Manchester, M13 9WL

E-mail: Fran.Binici@cmft.nhs.uk

Tel: 0161 7010679

Janet Johnson – Full time Specialist Practitioner for Neuromuscular Conditions, based in Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. Caters for paediatric and young people up to the age of 18.

Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital 3rd Floor, Room C3.DV.162 Oxford Rd Manchester, M13 9WL

E-mail: Janet.Johnson@cmft.nhs.uk

Tel: 0161 7010679

Louise Hastings – Northeast Neuromuscular Nurse Specialist, based in Newcastle. Louise caters for paediatric and adult patients from Tuesday to Thursday each week.

MRC Centre for Neuromuscular Diseases at Newcastle, Institute of Genetic Medicine, International Centre for Life, Central Parkway, Newcastle, NE1 3BZ

E-mail: louise.hastings@nuth.nhs.uk

Tel: 0191 2418736

Gail Eglon – Northeast Neuromuscular Genetics Nurse Specialist, based in Newcastle, covers paediatric and adult patients on a full time basis.

MRC Centre for Neuromuscular Diseases at Newcastle, Institute of Genetic Medicine, International Centre for Life, Central Parkway, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3BZ

E-mail: gail.eglon@nuth.nhs.uk

Tel: 0191 2418864

Joe Mason – Specialist Neuromuscular Care Advisor for the North East, based in Newcastle, who covers paediatric and adult care Monday – Fridays.

The John Walton Neuromuscular Research Centre, International Centre for Life, Newcastle. NE1 3BZ

E-mail: Joseph.Mason@nuth.nhs.uk

Tel: 0191 241 8761

Isobel Douglas – Regional Neuromuscular Nurse Specialist for Northern Ireland, based in Belfast. She works full time and covers pediatric and young adult care.

RBHSC, 180 Falls Road, BELFAST BT12 6BE

E-mail: isobel.douglas@belfasttrust.hscni.net

Tel: 02890 638143

Kirstie Spencer – Muscular Dystrophy Care Advisor for Nottingham, covering paediatric and adult care on a full time basis.

Nottingham University Hospital NHS Trust, Queen’s Medical Centre Campus, Derby Road,  Nottingham NG7 2UH.

E-mail: Kirstie.spencer@nuh.nhs.uk

Tel: 0115 9249924

Heather Ryan – Regional Care Advisor based in Oxford, can cover appointments with adults only, available on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

Dept Of Clinical Neurology, Level 3, West Wing, John Radcliffe Hospital, Headley Way, Headington, Oxford OX3 9DU (covers Oxford, Bucks, Berks & Northants.

E-mail: Heather.Ryan@ouh.nhs.uk

Tel: 01865 234221

Rebecca Moore – Regional Care Advisor based in Oxford seeing children only

Dept Of Clinical Neurology, Level 3, West Wing, John Radcliffe Hospital, Headley Way, Headington, Oxford OX3 9DU (covers Oxford, Bucks, Berks & Northants.

E-mail: Rebecca.moore@ouh.nhs.uk

Tel: 01865 231999

Mary Quirke – Myasthenia Nurse Specialist also seeing Myotonic Patients.

John Radcliffe Hospital, West Wing, Level Three, John Radcliffe Hospital, Headley Way, Headington, Oxford  OX3 9DU

E-mail: Mary.quirke@ouh.nhs.uk

Tel: 01865 240300

Kelly Parkinson – Care Advisor seeing children in Preston

Royal Preston Hospital, Sharoe Green Lane North, Fulwood, Preston, Lancashire, PR2 9HT

E-mail: Kelly.parkinson2@LTHTR.nhs.uk

Gillian Mitchell – Regional Care Advisor for the East of Scotland, based in Edinburgh. Covers pediatric and adult care on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays.

Western General Hospital, Crewe Road South, Edinburgh, EH4 2XU.

E-mail: gillian.mitchell7@nhs.net

Tel: 0131 5371063

Julie Burslem – Neuromuscular Care Advisor for the North of Scotland, based in Inverness. Covers both pediatric and adult care.

Highland Council, Birnie Centre, Raigmore Hospital, Old Perth Road, Inverness, IV2 3UG.

E-mail: Julie.Burslem2@highland.gov.uk

Tel: 01463 704419

Wilma Stewart – Regional Care Advisor based in Glasgow, covering paediatric and adult care in West Scotland between Tuesday and Friday.

West of Scotland Genetics Service, Level 1 Laboratory Medicine Building, Southern General Hospital, 1345 Govan Road, Glasgow G51 4TF

E-mail: wilma.stewart2@nhs.net

Tel: 01413 549204

Jen Dunne – Neuromuscular Clinical Nurse Specialist based in Glasgow, covering paediatric care in West Scotland on a full time basis.

Royal Hospital for Children, Office Block, Ground Floor, 1345 Govan Road, Glasgow.

E-mail: Jennifer.Dunne@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Tel: 0141 4516473

Suni Narayan – Neuromuscular Co-ordinator and Specialist Physiotherapist for adults, available 1 day a week at Southampton General Hospital.

Wessex Neurological Centre, Southampton General Hospital, Tremona Road, SO16 6YD

E-mail: sunitha.narayan@uhs.nhs.uk

Alice Wilson – Neuromuscular Co-ordinator and Specialist Physiotherapist for adults, based at Southampton General Hospital.

Wessex Neurological Centre, Southampton General Hospital, Tremona Road, SO16 6YD

E-mail: Alice.Wilson@uhs.nhs.uk

Tel:  02381 208691

Shona Mackie – Paediatric Neurology Nurse Specialist, available on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays and Southampton General Hospital.

Southampton General Hospital, Tremona Road, Southampton SO166YD

E-mail: Shona.Mackie@uhs.nhs.uk

Tel: 02380 777222 ext 3422

Helen Browne – Paediatric Neurology Nurse Specialist.

Southampton General Hospital, G4 Surgery, Research Office, Level G, SO16 6YD

E-mail: Helen.browne@uhs.nhs.uk

Tel: 08673 51127

Elaine Burrows – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Advisor, working Monday – Friday. Covers Bristol, Bath, Somerset, N.East Somerset, N. Somerset, Wiltshire, Swindon, S. Gloucestershire and Gloucestershire.

Dept Neurology, Gate 10 Level 6, Southmead Hospital Bristol, Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol, BS10 5NP

E-mail: elaine.burrows@nbt.nhs.uk

Tel: 0117 4141184/85

Ann Morgan – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Advisor covering Bristol, Bath, Somerset, N.East Somerset, N. Somerset, Wiltshire, Swindon and S. Gloucestershire and Gloucestershire.

Room 7Gate 18 Level 1, Southmead Hospital Bristol, Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol, BS10 5NP

E-mail: ann.morgan@nbt.nhs.uk

Tel: 0117 4141184/85

Clare Stayt – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Advisor covering Devon.

Neurology Dept, Level 10, Derriford Hospital, Plymouth PL6 8DH

E-mail: clarestayt@nhs.net

Tamara Eaton – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Cornwall.

Neurology Dept, Level 10, Derriford Hospital, Plymouth PL6 8DH

E-mail: Tamara.eaton@nhs.net

Tel: 01752 432911

Sam Power – A full time Neuromuscular Care Advisor based in Caernarfon, Sam can accommodate for paediatric and adult clients.

Bodfan, Ysbyty Eryri, Caernarfon, LL55 2YE

E-mail: Samantha.Power@wales.nhs.uk

Rachel Salmon – Neuromuscular Family Care Advisor for South Wales, available on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday. Based in Cardiff, she covers paediatric and adult services.

Rockwood Hospital, Llandaff, Cardiff CF5 2YN.

E-mail: Rachel.salmon@wales.nhs.uk

 

Sarah Gates – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor for South Wales, based in Swansea. Available Monday to Thursday.

Naefy Gwernen Hall, Morriston Hospital, Swansea, West Glamorgan, SA6 6NL.

E-mail: Sarah.gates@wales.nhs.uk

Sue Gallagher – Full time Regional Care Advisor based in Birmingham, covering paediatric care.

Child Development Centre, Bordesley Green East, Birmingham, B9 5SS

E-mail: susan.gallagher@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Tel: 0121 424 0689

Jane O’Connor – Full time Regional Care Advisor for paediatric and adult clients, based in Birmingham.

Child Development Centre, Bordesley Green East’ Birmingham, B9 5SS

E-mail: jane.oconnor@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Tel: 0121 424 0689

Kate Jones – Neuromuscular Care Advisor at the Robert Jones Agnes Hunt NHS Trust in Oswestry. Kate supports services for children and adults.

Robert Jones Agnes Hunt NHS Trust, Oswestry, Shropshire SY10 7AG.

E-mail: Kate.Bateman@rjah.nhs.uk

Tel: 01691 404333

Claire Bassie – Specialist nurse for Children and Adults at the Robert Jones Agnes Hunt NHS Trust in Oswestry.

Robert Jones Agnes Hunt NHS Trust, Oswestry, Shropshire SY10 7AG.

E-mail: Claire.Bassie@rjah.nhs.uk

Tel: 01691 404333

Sue Manning – Based in Leeds, Sue is a full time Neuromuscular Care Advisor for paediatric and adult clients in East, North and West Yorkshire.

Paediatric Offices, Neurology Room 9, Old Main Site, Block 16 A Floor, LGI, Leeds LS1 3EX

Secretary: Iris Maher, 0113 3923113

E-mail: Sue.Manning1@nhs.net

Tel: 0113 3923113

 

Tracey Adjei – Full time Neuromuscular Care Advisor for paediatric and adult clients, based in Hull.

Neurology Specialist Nurse Office, Wilson Building, Hull Royal Infirmary, Analaby Road, Hull HU3 2JZ

E-mail: Tracey.adjei@hey.nhs.uk

Tel: 01482 675721

Margaret Jackson – Specialist Neuromuscular Care Advisor for South Yorkshire & Humber, based in Sheffield. She works with both paediatric and adult clients.

6 Claremont Place, Sheffield, S10 2TB

E-mail: mjackson7@nhs.net

Tel: 0114 2711898

Pippa Jackson – Specialist Neuromuscular Care Advisor for South Yorkshire & Humber, based in Sheffield. She works with both paediatric and adult clients.

6 Claremont Place, Sheffield, S10 2TB

Pippajackson1@nhs.net

011427 13441

 

Keep in touch
X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -