Trailblazers provide the secretariat for the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Young Disabled People.

This was launched in February 2011 by Paul Maynard, MP for Blackpool North and Cleveleys, who chaired until August 2016. The Group is now chaired by Heidi Allen MP.

The APPG was set up to provide a Parliamentary platform to examine the social injustices experienced by young disabled people. MPs, Peers and Trailblazers can question decision makers in the relevant fields and help to shape future policies.

Our officers include:

  • Heidi Allen MP (Conservative)
  • Dr Lisa Cameron MP (SNP)
  • Baroness Grey-Thompson (Crossbench)
  • John McNally MP (SNP)
  • Jared O’Mara MP (Labour)
  • Lord Rennard (Liberal Democrat)
  • Lord Shinkwin (Conservative)
  • John Woodcock MP (Labour)

To find out more about the All Party Parliamentary Group for Young Disabled People please email us on


Keep in touch