Callies Crew 668x376
My name is Callie and I was born in 2008. I live in South Wales with my mum, my dad and my twin brother Sam.




I was diagnosed with muscular dystrophy when I was two years old after my mum had noticed that my ability to walk and stand up wasn’t developing as quickly as my twin brother, Sam. I am told I am very special as the type of my muscular dystrophy, which is somewhere between Bethlem Myopathy and Ullrich congenital muscular dystrophy affects only one in a million people! (I’m closer to the Ullrich end).

 I am a very busy and active girl and I don't let my muscular dystrophy stop me from doing many of the things I want to do.

I enjoy swimming, sewing, knitting, art, writing, playing the guitar and I'm an active member of our local triathlon club, Celtic Tri. 

One of my favourite quotes, which is on the wall in my school is: "Don’t let the things you can’t do stop you from doing what you can do.”

I have already raised money for Muscular Dystrophy UK by the way of sponsorship for entering many different events. I take part each year in a locally organised charity aquathon which involves me swimming and walking set distances.

I want to help raise more money. Together with my mum I decided to start a Family Fund. We noticed that there were no Family Funds here in Wales. For this reason we have started Callie’s Crew with the aim of raising awareness and funds for research into Ullrich congenital muscular dystrophy.

Dewch i ymuno a criw Callie!

Come and join Callie’s Crew!

You can follow Callie on her Facebook page 

All net profits from Callie's Crew will be used to support research in to Ullrich muscular dystrophy 


Connect with the Family Fund