Vice presidents

The role of Vice President is an honorary position offered to our most committed and influential supporters.

Our Vice Presidents help raise the charity’s profile and income by encouraging others to support Muscular Dystrophy UK. They are ambassadors for our cause and take a proactive approach to increasing support.

Vice Presidents receive regular correspondence and information from Muscular Dystrophy UK to ensure that they are well informed about progress in all areas of our work.

Our Vice Presidents

  • The Hon. Michael Attenborough CBE
  • Karen Attenborough
  • Sophia Bergqvist
  • Frances Carey
  • Jeremy Champion
  • Candida Crewe
  • Charity Crewe
  • Sebastian Crewe
  • Victoria Elliston
  • Sir Alex Ferguson CBE
  • Andrew Graham
  • Matthew Kelly
  • Sarah Kelly
  • Simon Knights
  • Charles Manby MBE
  • Nicola Manby
  • Andrew Martin
  • Ann McNeil
  • Jeremy Pelczer
  • Julian Pritchard
  • Michael A Thirkettle
  • Baroness Celia Thomas of Winchester MBE
  • Andrew J Weir
  • Alex Wellesley Wesley
  • Sir Guy Weston
  • Anil Ahir
  • Ian Mathieson
  • Louisa Hill

Our Research Vice Presidents

  • Professor Kate Bushby M.D.
  • Professor Patrick Chinnery FRCP FMedSci
  • Professor Dame Kay Davies DBE FRS FMed Sci
  • Dr David Hilton-Jones MA MD FRCP FRCPE
  • Professor Darren Monckton PhD
  • Professor Francesco Muntoni FRCPCH FMed Sci
  • Professor Mary Reilly
  • Professor Volker Straub
  • Professor Douglas M Turnbull MBBS (Hons), MD, PhD, FRCP
  • Professor Matthew Wood MBChB MA DPhil

Vice President’s Lunch

All Vice Presidents are invited to our annual lunch meeting of hosted by our CEO and Chairman. The meetings are the key forum in which we inform and thank our Vice Presidents.

During the meeting they get the opportunity to network with one another. They also receive a full update on our work and research from Trustees, members of the Senior Executive Team and other staff members.