Care advisors

Contact information

Regional neuromuscular care advisors and specialist nurses provide practical and emotional support for families affected by muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular conditions.

They also offer advice and information, supporting physical and emotional well being through regular clinics, and educating other health professionals.

Their training backgrounds include nursing, social care, physiotherapy and occupational therapy. They work with statutory service providers, education authorities and other professionals to advise, support and best meet the needs of people with muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular conditions.

In order to have ongoing support from a regional care advisor, you will usually need to be referred by your GP to the clinic that the regional care advisor supports.

 

Dorset

Kathryn Docherty – Part time Neuromuscular Care Advisor for paediatric and adult clients.

Poole Hospital, Dorset, BH15 2JB

E-mail: Kathryn.docherty@poole.nhs.uk

Tel: 01202 263273

 

 

East of England

Andrea Russell - Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Suffolk, based in Cambridge.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ

E-mail: andrea.russellscg@nhs.net

Tel: 01223 349815

Liz Joyner -  Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Norfolk.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ

E-mail: Elizabeth.Joyner@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Tel: 01223 349815

Carol Wood – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Cambridgeshire and Essex, based in Cambridge.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ

E-mail: Carolann.wood@nhs.net

Tel: 01223 349815

Andy Rose – Adult and paediatric Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire and Peterborough.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ.

E-mail: andy.rose1@nhs.net

Tel: 01223 349815

Katrina Cousins – Paediatric Specialist Nurse based at Addenbrooks hospital, Cambridge.

Addenbrookes Hospital, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 0QQ.

E-mail: katrina.cousins2@nhs.net

Tel: 01223 216662

 

Lancashire: Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale

Janice Fidler – Full time Neuromuscular Care Advisor for paediatric and adult clients.

Pennine Care NHS trust, Paediatric Physiotherapy Department, Callaghan House, Cross Street, Heywood, Lancashire, OL10 2DY.

E-mail: janice.fidler1@nhs.net

Tel: 01706 676316

 

Leicester

Yvonne Julien – Neuromuscular Care Advisor for Leicester, catering for both paediatric and adult care on a full time basis.

Leicester General Hospital, Neurology Outpatients, Gwendolen Road, Leicester LE5 4PW

E-mail: Yvonne.julien@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Tel: 0116 2584474

 

Liverpool

Shirley Crosby - Neuromuscular Care Advisor for clients who attend Alder Hey & Walton Centre. Can provide for paediatric and adult patients on a full time basis.

E-mail: Shirley.Crosby@alderhey.nhs.uk

Tel: 0151 2525751

Alison Sutch - Neuromuscular Care Advisor for clients who attend Alder Hey & Walton Centre

E-mail: Alison.Sutch@alderhey.nhs.uk

Tel: 0151 2284811

Sam Jones – Neuromuscular Specialist Nurse specialising in adult care only on a full time basis.

Walton Centre, Lower Lane, Liverpool L9 7BB

E-mail: Samantha.Jones@thewaltoncentre.nhs.uk

Kathryn Cooke - Associate Neuromuscular Nurse Specialist for clients who attend Alder Hey

Alder Hey Children’s NHS Trust, East Prescot Road, Liverpool, L12 2AP

E-mail: Kathryn.Cooke@alderhey.nhs.uk

Tel: 0151 252 5451

 

London

Sian Craig – Paediatric Specialist Nurse at Great Ormond Street Hospital.

Dubowitz Neuromuscular Service, Level 10 Old Nurses Home, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children, Great Ormond Street, London WC1N 3JH

E-mail: sian.craig@gosh.nhs.uk

Tel: 02074 059200 ext. 1195

Emma Standing - Clinical Nurse Specialist Paediatric Neurology at St. Thomas’ Hospital. Working Mondays, Tuesday and Wednesdays

Paediatric Neurosciences, 1st Floor, Staircase D, South Wing, St Thomas’ Hospital, Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7EH

E-mail: emma.standing@gstt.nhs.uk

Tel: 02071 885944

 

Manchester

Wendy Foo– Full time Specialist Practitioner for Neuromuscular Conditions, based in Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. Caters for paediatric and young people up to the age of 18.

Royal Manchester Children's Hospital 3rd Floor, Room C3.DV.162 Oxford Rd Manchester, M13 9WL

E-mail: Wendy.Foo@mft.nhs.uk

Tel: 0161 7010679

Janet Johnson - Full time Specialist Practitioner for Neuromuscular Conditions, based in Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. Caters for paediatric and young people up to the age of 18.

Royal Manchester Children's Hospital 3rd Floor, Room C3.DV.162 Oxford Rd Manchester, M13 9WL

E-mail: Janet.Johnson@cmft.nhs.uk

Tel: 0161 7010679

Nicola Earl – Full time Specialist Nurse for Neuromuscular Conditions, based in Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. Caters for paediatric and young people up to the age of 18.

Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital 3rd Floor, Room C3.DV.162 Oxford Rd Manchester, M13 9WL

E-mail: Nicola.earl@mft.nhs.uk

Tel: 0161 7010679

Phillip Kelly - Full time Neuromuscular Specialist Nurse & Care Advisor, based at Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust. Supports adults with neuromuscular conditions

Muscle Diseases Unit, 3rd Floor, Neurology Offices, Humphrey Booth Building, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust, Stott Lane, Salford, M6 8HD

E-mail: MDU@srft.nhs.uk

Tel: 0161 206 2010

 

Newcastle

Gail Eglon - Northeast Neuromuscular Genetics Nurse Specialist, based in Newcastle, covers paediatric and adult patients on a full time basis.

MRC Centre for Neuromuscular Diseases at Newcastle, Institute of Genetic Medicine, International Centre for Life, Central Parkway, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3BZ

E-mail: gail.eglon@nuth.nhs.uk

Tel: 0191 2418864

Joe Mason - Specialist Neuromuscular Care Advisor for the North East, based in Newcastle, who covers paediatric and adult care Monday - Fridays.

The John Walton Neuromuscular Research Centre, International Centre for Life, Newcastle. NE1 3BZ

E-mail: Joseph.Mason@nuth.nhs.uk

Tel: 0191 241 8761

 

Northern Ireland

Isobel Douglas - Regional Neuromuscular Nurse Specialist for Northern Ireland, based in Belfast. She works full time and covers pediatric and young adult care.

RBHSC, 180 Falls Road, Belfast BT12 6BE

E-mail: isobel.douglas@belfasttrust.hscni.net

Tel: 02890 638143

 

Nottingham

Kirstie Spencer – Muscular Dystrophy Care Advisor for Nottingham, covering paediatric and adult care on a full time basis.

Nottingham University Hospital NHS Trust, Queen’s Medical Centre Campus, Derby Road, Nottingham NG7 2UH.

E-mail: Kirstie.spencer@nuh.nhs.uk

Tel: 0115 9249924

 

Oxford

Heather Ryan – Regional Care Advisor based in Oxford, can cover appointments with adults only, available on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

Dept Of Clinical Neurology, Level 3, West Wing, John Radcliffe Hospital, Headley Way, Headington, Oxford OX3 9DU (covers Oxford, Bucks, Berks & Northants.

E-mail: Heather.Ryan@ouh.nhs.uk

Tel: 01865 234221

Rebecca Moore – Regional Care Advisor based in Oxford seeing children only

Dept Of Clinical Neurology, Level 3, West Wing, John Radcliffe Hospital, Headley Way, Headington, Oxford OX3 9DU (covers Oxford, Bucks, Berks & Northants.

E-mail: Rebecca.moore@ouh.nhs.uk

Tel: 01865 231999

Mary Quirke – Myasthenia Nurse Specialist also seeing Myotonic Patients.

John Radcliffe Hospital, West Wing, Level Three, John Radcliffe Hospital, Headley Way, Headington, Oxford  OX3 9DU

E-mail: Mary.quirke@ouh.nhs.uk

Tel: 01865 240300

 

Preston

Kelly Parkinson - Care Advisor seeing children in Preston

Royal Preston Hospital, Sharoe Green Lane North, Fulwood, Preston, Lancashire, PR2 9HT

E-mail: Kelly.parkinson2@LTHTR.nhs.uk

 

Scotland (East)

Gillian Mitchell –  Neuromuscular Liaison Nurse. Covers paediatric and adult care. Available Monday to Wednesday 0800 - 1600.

Royal Hospital for Children and Young People, 50 Little France Crescent, Edinburgh Bioquarter EH16 4TJ.

E-mail: gillian.mitchell7@nhs.net

Tel: 0131 312 0611(50611)

Scottish Muscle Network

 

Scotland (North)

Julie Burslem – Regional Paediatric Neuromuscular Physiotherapist and Care Advisor for the North of Scotland, based in Inverness. Covers both paediatric and adult care.

Birnie Centre, Raigmore Hospital, Old Perth Road, Inverness, IV2 3UJ.

E-mail: julieburslem@nhs.net

Tel: 01463 704419

 

Scotland (West)

Wilma Stewart - Regional Care Advisor based in Glasgow, covering paediatric and adult care in West Scotland between Tuesday and Friday.

West of Scotland Genetics Service, Level 1 Laboratory Medicine Building, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, 1345 Govan Road, Glasgow G51 4TF

E-mail: wilma.stewart2@nhs.net

Tel: 01413 549204

Jen Dunne – Neuromuscular Clinical Nurse Specialist based in Glasgow, covering paediatric care in West Scotland on a full time basis.

Royal Hospital for Children, Office Block, Ground Floor, Zone 02/1, 1345 Govan Road, Glasgow, G51 4TF

E-mail: Jennifer.Dunne@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Tel: 0141 4516473

 

Southampton

Suni Narayan – Neuromuscular Co-ordinator and Specialist Physiotherapist for adults, available 1 day a week at Southampton General Hospital.

Wessex Neurological Centre, Southampton General Hospital, Tremona Road, SO16 6YD

E-mail: sunitha.narayan@uhs.nhs.uk

Alice Wilson - Neuromuscular Co-ordinator and Specialist Physiotherapist for adults, based at Southampton General Hospital.

Wessex Neurological Centre, Southampton General Hospital, Tremona Road, SO16 6YD

E-mail: Alice.Wilson@uhs.nhs.uk

Tel:  02381 208691

Shona Mackie - Paediatric Neurology Nurse Specialist, available on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays and Southampton General Hospital.

Southampton General Hospital, Tremona Road, Southampton SO166YD

E-mail: Shona.Mackie@uhs.nhs.uk

Tel: 02380 777222 ext 3422

Sabrina Bushell - Paediatric Neuromuscular Nurse Specialist.

Southampton General Hospital, G4 Surgery, Research Office, Level G, SO16 6YD

E-mail: Sabrina.Bushell@uhs.nhs.uk

 

South West

Elaine Burrows – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Advisor, working Monday – Friday. Covers Bristol, Bath, Somerset, N.East Somerset, N. Somerset, Wiltshire, Swindon, S. Gloucestershire and Gloucestershire.

Room 7, Gate 18 Level 1, Brunel Building, Southmead Hospital Bristol, Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol, BS10 5NP

E-mail: elaine.burrows@nbt.nhs.uk

Tel: 0117 4141184/85

Ann Morgan – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Advisor covering Bristol, Bath, Somerset, N.East Somerset, N. Somerset, Wiltshire, Swindon and S. Gloucestershire and Gloucestershire.

Room 7, Gate 18 Level 1, Brunel Building, Southmead Hospital Bristol, Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol, BS10 5NP

E-mail: ann.morgan@nbt.nhs.uk

Tel: 0117 4141184

Clare Stayt – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Advisor covering Devon.

Outpatient Department, Local Care Centre, Mount Gould Hospital, Plymouth, PL4 7PY

E-mail: clarestayt@nhs.net

Tel: 01752 432912

Tamara Eaton – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor covering Cornwall.

Neurology Dept, Level 10, Derriford Hospital, Plymouth PL6 8DH

E-mail: Tamara.eaton@nhs.net

Tel: 01752 432911

 

 

Surrey

Pamela Appleton – Neuromuscular Care Advisor for adults and young adults of transition age in Surrey (also provides specialist advice and support to people who do not live in Surrey when they attend clinic to see their Neuromuscular Consultant at St George's Hospital).

Atkinson Morley Regional Neurosciences Centre, St George's Hospital, Tooting, London, SW17 0QT.

E-mail: nervemuscle@stgeorges.nhs.uk

 

Wales

Rachel Salmon – Neuromuscular Family Care Advisor for South Wales, available on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday. Based in Cardiff, she covers paediatric and adult services.

Rockwood Hospital, Llandaff, Cardiff CF5 2YN.

E-mail: Rachel.salmon@wales.nhs.uk

Alice Spilsbury – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor for South Wales, based in Swansea.

Naefy Gwernen Hall, Morriston Hospital, Swansea, West Glamorgan, SA6 6NL.

E-mail: Alice.Spilsbury@wales.nhs.uk

Tel: 01792 545753

Veronica Roberts – Paediatric and Adult Neuromuscular Care Advisor for North Wales.

E-mail: Rebecca.Kargiotis@wales.nhs.uk

Tel: 03000 851730

 

West Midlands

Sue Gallagher – Full time Regional Care Advisor based in Birmingham, covering paediatric care.

Child Development Centre, Birmingham Heartlands Hospital, Bordesley Green East, Birmingham, B9 5SS

E-mail: susan.gallagher@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Tel: 0121 424 0689

Jane O’Connor – Full time Regional Care Advisor for children and adults up to the age of 25, based in Birmingham.

Child Development Centre, Birmingham Heartlands Hospital, Bordesley Green East, Birmingham, B9 5SS

E-mail: jane.o'connor2@nhs.net

Tel: 0121 424 0689

Kerry Jones – Neuromuscular Care Advisor at the Robert Jones Agnes Hunt NHS Trust in Oswestry. Kate supports services for children and adults.

Muscle Team, Torch Center, Robert Jones Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, Oswestry, Shropshire, SY10 7AG

E-mail: k.jones26@nhs.net

Tel: 01691 404333

Claire Bassie – Advanced Nurse Practitioner Neuromuscular Care for children and adults at the Robert Jones Agnes Hunt NHS Trust in Oswestry.

Muscle Team, Torch Center, Robert Jones Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, Oswestry, Shropshire, SY10 7AG

E-mail: claire.bassie@nhs.net

Tel: 01691 404493

 

Yorkshire

Sue Manning – Based in Leeds, Sue is a full time Neuromuscular Care Advisor for paediatric and adult clients in East, North and West Yorkshire.

Leeds General Infirmary, Room 42, Paediatric Neurology, F Floor, Martin Wing, Leeds, LS1 3EX

Secretary: Iris Maher, 0113 3923113

E-mail: Sue.Manning1@nhs.net

Tel: 0113 3923113

Tracey Adjei – Full time Neuromuscular Care Advisor for adult clients, based in Hull.

Neurology Specialist Nurse Office, Wilson Building, Hull Royal Infirmary, Analaby Road, Hull HU3 2JZ

E-mail: Tracey.adjei@hey.nhs.uk

Tel: 01482 675721

Sian Ball – Paediatric Neuromuscular Care Advisor for South Yorkshire & Humber, based in Sheffield. Working days are Wednesday (pm), Thursday and Friday (am)

Sheffield Children’s NHS Foundation Trust, Ryegate Children’s Centre, Tapton Crescent Road, Sheffield, S10 5DD

E-mail: sian.ball@nhs.net

Tel: 0114 271 7610

Pippa Jackson - Adult specialist Neuromuscular Care Advisor for South Yorkshire & Humber, based in Sheffield. Working days are Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday's.

12 Claremont Crescent, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield, S10 2TA

E-mail: Pippajackson1@nhs.net

Tel: 011427 13441